Silence.

afterglow background beautiful branches
Photo by Krivec Ales on Pexels.com

Silence. Quiet. Calm. Peace.  These are the things that I crave.  Admittedly, I am quite the hermit.  If you were to leave me to my own devices, I would happily stay away from the busyness of everyday life.  I am quite content to stay at home or go for a run by myself.  I love being in the woods and I enjoy how thoughts float in and out of my mind.  Sometimes, there are epiphanies.  Sometimes, I get inspired. Sometimes, I simply take stock in things. Sometimes, I pray.

I actually get very cranky when I don’t get quiet time. Do you ever get like that?

It’s like I need a reset.  I seem to get a little anxious when there are too many things on the calendar. And, once I’ve made it through whatever is on my schedule, I crave the silence, the stillness.

Many days, when the kids are still at school and my smallest minion is taking her nap, I will just sit in my favorite chair and stare out of the window at the trees.  I could sit there for 5 minutes or 50.  Doesn’t matter to me.  I don’t have to be doing anything.

I find it a little unsettling that society today seems a bit uncomfortable just sitting.  Do we have to be constantly productive? Is it ok to just sit?

Maybe that’s why I don’t play the radio in the car, I don’t typically run in a group, and I enjoy the quietness of swimming.  I need that head space so that I can reset.  After being over-stimulated during my busy times, it’s may way to recover.

When was the last time you sat in stillness and did nothing?

Run happy. Run long.

#runningtruths

Amy is an ultramarathoner and triathlete, a coach, a mother of four, an Exercise Physiologist and a Physical Therapist. She lives with her husband, Dan (also an ultramarathoner and triathlete), and kids in Ohio.

Leave a comment